dilys-laye1I was saddened to hear of the death of the actress Dilys Laye aged 74.

Despite a long and varied career, Dilys was best known to me for her roles in the Carry On series. Appearing in just four films, Laye made her mark playing Flo Castle in Carry On Cruising (1962), a Bond-girl parody in Carry On Spying (1964), Mavis Winkle, an “impish pygmy to [Bernard Bresslaw’s] lumbering giant” (as the Guardian newspaper put it) in Carry On Doctor (1967) and again as Bresslaw’s love interest, the permanently car-sick Anthea Meeks in 1969’s Carry On Camping.

The Stage magazine clearly got it right when they described her as being “Small but perfectly formed…”, someone who had a smile “…as warming as a log fire on a cold winter’s night”.

Dilys Laye: born 11 March 1934, died 13 February 2009.

3 thoughts on ““As warming as a log fire on a cold winter’s night”: Remembering Dilys Laye

  1. I only learned of her very sad demise recently,this year on the 13th February 2009,what a very sad loss.I remember her vividly in all the four carry on films,most noteably “Carry on Cruising” alongside Liz Fraser of which they were both very good together.She was also excellent playing a Russian spy in “Carry on Spying”.She’ll be greatly missed indeed…what a great talented actress she was.RIP.

  2. Hello. I’ve linked to the picture in this post to illustrate something I wanted to write in a post of my own. I hope you don’t mind. Please let me know if you would like me to source the picture from elsewhere.

    All the best from Berlin.

  3. I was shocked to hear the death of one of the carry on stars which I have always had a crush on.She had the most beautiful smile and was a brilliant actress,funny really because I had just finished watching carry on cruising and I wanted to see what she was like today,I am really sad God bless you ms Laye.

Leave a Reply

